Inaugural Cohort of Trustees Emeriti Announced


March 1, 2023 – The Hastings Center’s Board of Directors announced the inaugural cohort of trustees emeriti, former directors whose service, expertise, leadership, and support have helped position Hastings as the world’s leading independent bioethics organization. “The current board is delighted to recognize and welcome this esteemed group of leaders as trustees emeriti. The enduring impact of their work and engagement with the Hastings community cannot be overstated,” said Bradford H. Gray, Board Chair.

The inaugural cohort is as follows:

President Emeritus

Thomas H. Murray

Board Chairs Emeriti

Harold Edgar
Julius Silver Professor of Law, Science and Technology, Emeritus – Columbia Law School, Professor of Law, Emeritus, Columbia Law School, Founding Fellow, The Hastings Center

David Roscoe
Financial Executive:  J.P. Morgan, Bridge Information Systems, Riskmetrics Group
Current corporate boards: CboeEquity Options, Futures Exchanges; Modern Bank

Trustees Emeriti

Andy Adelson 

Anita L. Allen
Henry R. Silverman Professor Law and Philosophy, University of Pennsylvania, National Academy of Medicine, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Philosophical Society

Liza Bailey

D.J. (Jan) Baker
Partner, Latham & Watkins, LLP (ret)

David Baltimore
President Emeritus and Professor, California Institute of Technology (Caltech)

Joshua Boger
Founder & CEO (former) – Vertex Pharmaceutical Incorporated, Chair Emeritus – Harvard Medical School Board of Fellows, Chair Emeritus – Network for Excellence in Health Innovation (NEHI)

Sissela Bok

Dominique Alice Browning
Vice President, Environmental Defense Fund, Director and Co-Founder, Moms Clean Air Force

Alexander Morgan Capron   
University Professor Emeritus, Scott H. Bice Professor Emeritus of Healthcare Law, Policy, and Ethics, Professor Emeritus of Law and Medicine, University of Southern California

Edgar Cheng     
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Irene Crowe     
President, Pettus-Crowe Foundation

Marion Danis

Nancy W. Dickey 
Texas A&M University School of Medicine, American Medical Association

Rebecca Dresser
Washington University in St. Louis

Alan R. Fleischman
Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Children’s Hospital at Montefiore

Francis Hartley Geer
The Reverend  Rector, St. Philip’s Church in the Highlands, 1987-2018, Member, New York State Task Force for Life and the Law, 1995-present

Christopher Getman                 

Ann Dudley Goldblatt                             

Geoffrey R. Hoguet
GRH Holdings, LLC

Ruth Macklin   
Distinguished University Professor Emerita, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Richard L. Menschel                             

Robert Michels
Walsh McDermott University Professor of Medicine, and University Professor of Psychiatry at Weill Cornell Medicine       

Michele Moody-Adams             
Joseph Straus Professor of Political Philosophy and Legal Theory at Columbia University

Larry I. Palmer    
Professor of Law Emeritus, Cornell University

Michael Patterson

Robert A. Pearlman      
Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine, University of Washington, Co-Founder and CEO, Medethics, Inc.

Eve Hart Rice                
Co-President, Rice Family Foundation

William L. Roper
Emeritus Professor of Medicine and Public Health, UNC – Chapel Hill

Cynda Hylton Rushton
Anne & George L. Bunting Professor of Clinical Ethics, Nursing & Pediatrics
Johns Hopkins University Berman Institute of Bioethics and School of Nursing

Harold T. Shapiro
Princeton University

Bonnie Steinbock         
Professor emeritus of philosophy, University at Albany/State University of New York

For more information, contact:

Susan Gilbert
The Hastings Center
845-424-4040 x244