About Us > Hastings Center Fellows
Hastings Center Fellows

fellows logoHastings Center Fellows are an elected group of individuals of outstanding accomplishment, whose work has informed scholarship and/or public understanding of complex ethical issues in health, health care, life sciences research and the environment.  Hastings Center Fellows may be academic bioethicists, scholars from other disciplines, scientists, journalists, lawyers, novelists, artists or highly accomplished persons from other spheres. Their common distinguishing feature is uncommon insight and impact in areas of critical concern to the Center – how best to understand and manage the inevitable values questions, moral uncertainties and societal effects that arise as a consequence of advances in the life sciences, the need to improve health and health care for people of all ages, and mitigation of human impact on the natural world.  

Each year The Hastings Center and its Fellows Council call for nominations for others to join our vibrant community.  There are currently just over 200 Hastings Center Fellows, predominantly from the United States, but increasingly from all corners of the globe.  The Fellows Council consists of eight Fellows, elected for two year terms, renewable once, and the Center’s President, as a nonvoting participant. The Council is responsible for facilitating Fellows’ involvement with the work of the Center; for ascertaining Fellows’ ideas for work in which the Center should engage; for encouraging Fellows to become active participants in projects and meetings; for arranging nomination of new Fellows, appointing a Fellows Nominating Committee and the election of the Fellows Council. The Chair and Vice Chair of the Council are voting members of the Center’s Board of Directors.  

 

Hastings Center Currents

A newsletter for fellows, friends, and alumni of The Hastings Center

 

Map of Hastings Center Fellows

Fellows Directory

Jump to:    A–E    F–J    K–O    P–T    U–Z

Nicholas Agar, PhD
Victoria University, Wellington
nicholas.agar@vuw.ac.nz

Akira Akabayashi, MD, PhD
University of Tokyo
akirasan-tky@umin.ac.jp

Anita L. Allen, JD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania Law School
aallen@law.upenn.edu

Lori Andrews, JD
Chicago-College of Law
landrews@kentlaw.edu

George J. Annas, JD, MPH
Boston University School of Public Health
annasgj@bu.edu

Paul Appelbaum, MD 
Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons
psa21@columbia.edu

John D. Arras, PhD
University of Virginia
jda3a@virginia.edu

Mary Ann Baily, PhD
Independent Consultant
bailym09@gmail.com

Robert Baker, PhD
Union College
baker@union.edu 

Margaret Battin, PhD
University of Utah
battin@utah.edu

Ronald Bayer, PhD
Columbia University
rb8@columbia.edu

Corrine Bayley, MA
St. Joseph Health System
cbayley@cox.net

Tom L. Beauchamp, PhD
Georgetown University
beauchat@georgetown.edu

Solomon R. Benatar, MBchB, FFA, DSC
University of Cape Town
sbenatar@uctgsh1.uct.ac.za

James L. Bernat, MD
Dartmouth Medical School
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

bernat@dartmouth.edu

Jeffrey Blustein, MD
City University of New York
jblustein@ccny.cuny.edu

Kathleen Boozang, LLM
Seton Hall University
boozanka@shu.edu

Charles L. Bosk, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
cbosk@sas.upenn.edu

Jeffrey Botkin, MD
University of Utah

jeffrey.botkin@hsc.utah.edu

Allan M. Brandt, PhD
Harvard Medical School
brandt@fas.harvard.edu

Dan W. Brock, PhD
Harvard Medical School
dan_brock@hms.harvard.edu

Baruch A. Brody, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine
bbrody@bcm.tmc.edu

Howard Brody, MD, PhD
University of Texas Medical Branch
habrody@utmb.edu

Allen E. Buchanan, PhD
Duke University
allenb@duke.edu

Robert A. Burt, JD
Yale Law School
robert.burt@yale.edu

Daniel Callahan, PhD
The Hastings Center
callahand@thehastingscenter.org

Alastair Campbell, MA, BD
National University of Singapore
medavc@nus.edu.sg

Courtney S. Campbell, PhD
Oregon State University
ccampbell@orst.edu

Arthur L. Caplan, PhD
NYU Langone Medical Center
arthur.caplan@nyulmc.org

Alexander Morgan Capron, LLB
University of Southern California
acapron@law.usc.edu

Ronald A. Carson, PhD
University of Texas Medical Branch
professorcarson@hotmail.com

Dame Silvia Cartwright
High Court of New Zealand
cartwrights@un.org

Christine K. Cassel, MD
American Board of Internal Medicine
ccassel@abim.org

Eric J. Cassell, MD
Cornell University Medical College
eric@ericcassell.com

Ruth Chadwick
Lancaster University
r.chadwick@lancaster.ac.uk

Tod Chambers, PhD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
t-chambers@northwestern.edu

R. Alta Charo, JD
University of Wisconsin
rcharo@wisc.edu

James F. Childress, PhD
University of Virginia
childress@virginia.edu

Larry R. Churchill, PhD
Vanderbilt University
larry.churchill@vanderbilt.edu

Ellen Wright Clayton, MD, JD
Vanderbilt University Law School
ellen.clayton@Vanderbilt.edu

Cynthia B. Cohen, JD, PhD
Georgetown University
ccohenp@aol.com

Charles M. Culver, MD, PhD
Barry University
cculver@mail.barry.edu

Abdallah Daar, MD
University of Toronto
a.daar@utoronto.ca

Norman Daniels, PhD
Harvard School of Public Health
ndaniels@hsph.harvard.edu

Marion Danis, MD
National Institutes of Health
mdanis@nih.gov  

Anne J. Davis, RN, PhD
University of California San Francisco
Anne.davis@ucsf.edu

Jessica G. Davis, MD, FACMG
NY Presbyterian Hospital - Weill Cornell
jgdavis@med.cornell.edu

Susan Dentzer, MA
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
sdentzer@verizon.net 

Elliot N. Dorff, PhD
University of Judasim
edorff@ajula.edu

Rebecca Dresser, JD
Washington University - St. Louis
dresser@wulaw.wustl.edu

Nancy Neveloff Dubler, LLB
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Montefiore Medical Center
ndubler@montefiore.org

Harold Edgar, LLB
Columbia Law School
hedgar@law.columbia.edu

Carl Elliott, MD
University of Minnesota
ellio23@umn.edu

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
zemanuel@upenn.edu

Linda L. Emanuel, MD, PhD
Northwestern University Medical School
l-emanuel@northwestern.edu

H. Tristram Engelhardt Jr., PhD, MD
Rice University
htengelh@rice.edu

Christopher H. Evans
Mayo Clinic
evans.christopher@mayo.edu

Back to top 


Ruth R. Faden, PhD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University
rfaden@jhu.edu

Martha J. Farah, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
mfarah@psych.upenn.edu

Chris Feudtner, MD, PhD, MPH
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
feudtner@email.chop.edu 

Joseph J. Fins, MD, FACP
Weill Cornell Medical College
jjfins@med.cornell.edu

Leonard M. Fleck, PhD
Michigan State University
fleck@msu.edu

Alan R. Fleischman, MD
March of Dimes
arf@fleischman.net

Norman Fost, MD, MPH
University of Wisconsin-Madison
ncfost@wisc.edu

Renée C. Fox, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
rcfox@ssc.upenn.edu

Joel E. Frader, MD
Northwestern University Medical School
Children's Memorial Hospital

J-frader@northwestern.edu

Leslie Pickering Francis, JD
University of Utah
francisl@law.utah.edu

Arthur Frank, PhD
University of Calgary
arthurfrank@gmail.com

Theodore Friedmann, MD
University of California, San Diego
tfriedmann@ucsd.edu

Vanessa Northington Gamble, MD, PhD
George Washington University
vngamble@gwu.edu

Atul Gawande, MD
Harvard Medical School
agawande@partners.org

Willard Gaylin, MD
The Hastings Center
willgaylin@gmail.com

Gail Geller, ScD, MHS
Johns Hopkins University
ggeller@jhu.edu  

Grant R. Gillett, MBchB, DPhil
University of Otago
grant.gillett@otago.ac.nz

Raanan Gillon, MS, BS, FRCP, BA
Imperial College London
raanan.gillon@imperial.ac.uk

Jonathan Glover, BPhil
King's College London
jonathan.glover@kcl.ac.uk

Susan D. Goold, MD, MHSA, MA
University of Michigan
sgoold@umich.edu

 Samuel Gorovitz, PhD
Syracuse University
sgcas@syr.edu

Lawrence O. Gostin, JD, LLD
Georgetown University Law Center
gostin@law.georgetown.edu

Diego Gracia, MD, PhD
Complutense University of Madrid
dmgg@med.ucm.es

Christine Grady, RN, PhD
National Insitutes of Health
cgrady@nih.gov

Bradford H. Gray, PhD
The Urban Institute
bgray@ui.urban.org

Michael Grodin, MD
Boston University
grodin@bu.edu

Michael Grossberg, PhD
Indiana University
grossber@indiana.edu

Lori Gruen, PhD
Wesleyan University
lgruen@wesleyan.edu 

Amy Gutmann, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
gutmann@pobox.upenn.edu

David C. Hadorn, MD, PhD
BC Pharmacare

Mark A. Hall, J.D.
Wake Forest University School of Law
and School of Medicine

mhall@wfubmc.edu

Mats G. Hansson, MD, PhD
Uppsala University
mats.hansson@crb.uu.se

John Harris, DPhil
University of Manchester
john.m.harris@man.ac.uk

Kurt Hirschhorn, MD
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
kurt.hirschhorn@mssm.edu

C. Barry Hoffmaster, PhD
University of Western Ontario
choffmas@uwo.ca

Karla Holloway, PhD 
Duke University
karla.holloway@duke.edu

Tony Hope, PhD
University of Oxford
Tonyhope@doctors.og.uk

Bruce Jennings, MA
Center for Humans and Nature
brucejennings@humansandnature.org

Steven Joffe, MD
University of Pennsylvania
joffes@mail.med.upenn.edu

Sandra H. Johnson, JD, LLM
St. Louis University
johnsosh@slu.edu

Albert R. Jonsen, PhD
University of Washington
arjonsen@aol.com

Eric T. Juengst, PhD
University of North Carolina
ejuengst@med.unc.edu 

  
Back to top
                                                                                                                                                                                   
Jeffrey P. Kahn, PhD, MP
University of Minnesota
jeffkahn@jhu.edu

Frances Kamm, PhD
John F. Kennedy School of Government
frances_kamm@ksg.harvard.edu

Jason Karlawish, MD
University of Pennsylvania
jasonkar@mail.med.upenn.edu

Leon R. Kass, MD, PhD
American Enterprise Institute
lrk1@uchicago.edu

Nancy E. Kass, ScD
Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
nkass@jhsph.edu

Donald Kennedy, PhD
Stanford University
kennedyD@stanford.edu

Nancy MP King, JD
Wake Forest School of Medicine
nmpking@wakehealth.edu

Patricia A. King, JD
Georgetown University Law Center
kingp@law.georgetown.edu

Robert L. Klitzman, MD
Columbia University 
rlk2@columbia.edu  

Bartha Maria Knoppers, LLB, PhD
McGill University and genome Quebec Innovation Centre

Eric Kodish, MD
Department of Bioethics, Cleveland Clinic
kodishe@ccf.org

Barbara A. Koenig, PhD
Mayo Clinic Foundation
barbara.koenig@ucsf.edu

Loretta M. Kopelman, PhD
Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University
kopelmanlo@ecu.edu

Sheldon Krimsky, PhD
Tufts University
sheldon.krimsky@tufts.edu

John Lantos, MD
Children's Mercy Hospital
jlantos@cmh.edu

Karen A. Lebacqz, PhD
Pacific School of Religion
klebacqz@psr.edu

Susan Lederer, PhD
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
selederer@wisc.edu

Noelle Lenoir
Jeantet
nlenoir@kramerlevin.com 

Carol Levine, MA
United Hospital Fund
clevine@uhfnyc.org

Robert J. Levine, MD
Yale University School of Medicine
levinerj@sbcglobal.net

Reidar Lie, MD, PhD
National Institutes of Health
rlie@cc.nih.gov

Hilde Lindemann, PhD
Michigan State University
hlinde@msu.edu

Margaret Little, PhD
Georgetown University
littlem@georgetown.edu

Edison Liu, MD
Genome Institute of Singapore
liue@gis.a-star.edu.sg  

Bernard Lo, MD
University of California San Francisco
bernardlo@greenwall.org

Alex London, PhD
Carnegie Mellon University
ajlondon@andrew.cmu.edu

Florencia Luna, PhD
Latin American University of Social Sciences
florluna@fibertel.com.ar

Joanne Lynn, MD, MA, MS
Center for Elder Care and Advanced Illness 
Altarum Institute

Joanne.Lynn@altarum.org

Ruth Macklin, PhD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Deirdre Madden, PhD
University College Cork, Ireland
d.madden@ucc.ie

Patricia Marshall, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
pam20@case.edu


William F. May, BD, PhD
Southern Methodist University
wmay@smu.edu

Charles R. McCarthy, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University
crmccart@vcu.edu

Laurence B. McCullough, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine
mccullou@bcm.edu

Maxwell J. Mehlman, JD
Case Western Reserve University
mjm10@cwru.edu

Gilbert C. Meilaender Jr., PhD
Valparaiso University
gilbert.meilaender@valpo.edu

Alan Meisel, JD
University of Pittsburgh
meisel@pitt.edu

Robert Michels, MD
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
rmichels@med.cornell.edu

Franklin G. Miller, PhD
National Institutes of Health
fmiller@nih.gov

Farhat Moazam, MD, PhD
Sindh Institute of Urology and Transplantation
famoz@mindspring.com

Kathryn Montgomery, PhD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
kmontgomery@northwestern.edu

Jonathan D. Moreno, PhD
University of Pennsylvania
morenojd@mail.med.upenn.edu

Arno G. Motulsky, MD
University of Washington
agmot@u.washington.edu

Robert F. Murray Jr., MD
Howard University College of Medicine
murrayjrf31@rcn.com

Thomas H. Murray, PhD
The Hastings Center
thmurray46@gmail.com

Jamie L. Nelson, PhD
Michigan State University
jlnelson@msu.edu

Jing-Bao Nie, MD, PhD
University of Otago
jing-bao.nie@otago.ac.nz

Gilbert S. Omenn
University of Michigan 
gomenn@umich.edu

David Orentlicher, MD, JD
Indiana University School of Law
dorentli@iupui.edu

  
Back to top
  

Larry I. Palmer, JD
Virginia Commonwealth University
College of William and Mary
lip1@cornell.edu

Jan Payne, MD, PhD
Charles University in Prague
jan.payne@atlas.cz

Robert A. Pearlman, MD, MPH
University of Wasington
VA Puget Sound Health Care
System
robert.pearlman.@va.gov

Stephen G. Post, PhD
Stony Brook University
post@stephengpost.com

Ralph B. Potter, ThD
Harvard Divinity School
Ralph_potter@harvard.edu

Tia Powell, MD
Montefiore-Einstein Center for Bioethics   
tpowell@montefiore.org 

Madison Powers, JD, DPhil
Georgetown University
powersm@georgetown.edu 

Nancy Press, PhD
Oregon Health and Science University
pressn@ohsu.edu

Ruth B. Purtilo, PhD
MGH Institute of Health Professions
ruthpurtilo@gmail.com

Ren-Zong Qiu
Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Institute of Philosophy
renzong@gmail.com

Rosamond Rhodes, PhD
Mount Sinai
rosamond.rhodes@mssm.edu 

Dorothy  Roberts, JD
Northwestern University School of Law
d-roberts@law.northwestern.edu

John A. Robertson, JD
University of Texas School of Law
jrobertson@mail.law.utexas.edu

Lainie Ross, MD, PhD
University of Chicago
Lross@uchicago.edu

David J. Rothman, PhD
Columbia College of Physicians & Surgeons
djr5@columbia.edu

Mark A. Rothstein, JD
University of Louisville School of Medicine
mark.rothstein@louisville.edu

Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN
Johns Hopkins University  
crushto1@jhu.edu  

James Sabin, MD
Director, Ethics Program, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
jim_sabin@hphc.org

Blair Sadler, JD
University of Califonia - San Diego
Schools of Medicine and Management
bsadler@uscd.edu

William Sage, MD, JD
University of Texas at Austin
wsage@law.utexas.edu

Mark Sagoff, PhD
George Mason University
msagoff@gmu.edu

Julian Savulescu
Oxford Uehiro Centre for Practical Ethics
julian.savulescu@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

Kenneth F. Schaffner, MD, PhD
University of Pittsburgh
kfs@pitt.edu  

Carl E. Schneider, JD
University of Michigan
carlschn@umich.edu

Bettina Schoene-Seifert, MD
University of Muenster
tandetz@ukmuenster.de

Harold T. Shapiro, PhD
Princeton University
hts@princeton.edu

Mark Siegler, MD
University of Chicago
msiegler@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Peter A. Singer, OC, MD, MPH, FRCPC
Sandra Rotman Centre
University of Toronto

Peter.singer@mrcglobal.org

Ilina Singh
Kings College London
ilina.singh@kcl.ac.uk

David H. Smith, PhD
Yale University
david.h.smith@yale.edu

Mildred Solomon, EdD
The Hastings Center
Harvard Medical School

solomonm@thehastingscenter.org

Bonnie Steinbock, PhD
Independent Consultant
bonnie.steinbock@gmail.com

Jeremy Sugarman, MD, MPH, MA
Johns Hopkins University 
jsugarman@jhu.edu

Daniel Sulmasy, OFM, MD, PhD
University of Chicago MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics
dsulmasy@uchicago.edu

Henk Ten Have, PhD
UNESCO
tenhaveh@duq.edu

Dennis F. Thompson, PhD
Harvard University
thomps2@fas.harvard.edu

Paul B. Thompson, PhD
Michigan State University
thomp649@msu.edu

Robert D. Truog, MD
Harvard University
Children's Hospital
robert.truog@tch.harvard.edu

Peter Ubel, MD
Duke University 
peter.ubel@duke.edu

Kenneth L. Vaux, ThD
Garrett/Northwestern University
Ken-Vaux@garrett.edu

Robert M. Veatch, PhD
Georgetown University
veatchr@georgetown.edu

LeRoy Walters, PhD
Georgetown University
waltersl@georgetown.edu

David Wasserman, JD
Yeshiva University
dwasserm@yu.edu

James D. Watson, PhD
Honorary Fellow
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
berejka@cshl.org

Charles Weijer, MD, PhD
University of Western Ontario 
cweijer@uwo.ca

Alan J. Weisbard, JD
University of Wisconsin Law School
weisbard@facstaff.wisc.edu

Nancy S. Wexler, PhD
Columbia College of Physicians & Surgeons
wexlern@pi.cpmc.columbia.edu

Daniel I. Wikler, PhD
Harvard School of Public Health
wikler@hsph.harvard.edu

Benjamin S. Wilfond, MD
Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics
Seattle Children's Hospital
benjamin.wilfond@seattlechildrens.org 

William J. Winslade, PhD, JD
University of Texas Medical Branch
wwinslad@utmb.edu

Susan M. Wolf, JD
University of Minnesota Law School
swolf@umn.edu

Paul Root Wolpe, PhD
Emory University
pwolpe@emory.edu

Stuart J. Youngner, MD
Case Western Reserve University
sxy2@po.cwru.edu

Xiaomei Zhai, PhD
Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences & Peking Union Medical College
xmzhai@gmail.com

Laurie Zoloth, PhD
Northwestern University
lzoloth@northwestern.edu

 

Support The Hastings Center

Make a Gift

Other ways to give

   

giving tree ad

  Over 65  

Yale-Hastings ad 

Full Access Ad     

2014 Award Winners